Bari Weiss Pauses Her Pathetic Podcast To Focus Full Time On Ruining CBS
from the modern-state-television dept
If you’ve been napping, Trump-allied billionaire Larry Ellison and his nepobaby son David hired an unqualified troll named Bari Weiss to “run” CBS News. And by “run” CBS news, I mean destroy what little journalism was left at the media giant and create an alternate-reality safe space for radical right wing billionaire extremists. While pretending to be “restoring trust in journalism.”
It’s… not going well.
Weiss’ inaugural “town hall” with opportunistic right wing grifter Erika Kirk was a ratings dud, her new nightly news broadcast has been an error-prone hot mess, and her murder of a 60 Minutes story about Trump concentration camps — and the network’s decision to air a story lying about the ICE murder of Nicole Good — has spurred a revolt among the CBS journalists that haven’t quit yet.
Weiss has, as all fail-upward media brunchlords do, repeatedly tried to blame her staffers for both her incompetence and for not doing more to coddle her public image. Things have gotten so heated at the crumbling CBS that Weiss has had to “pause” her “Honestly” podcast to put out fires at CBS:
“Thursday morning on her Free Press platform, Weiss said that taking on CBS News is a “huge responsibility,” before continuing, “So here is the news: ‘Honestly’ is taking a little bit of a pause. I know it is hard to hear that, it’s definitely hard for me to do that because I love doing this show. But I think and I hope that you will understand why.”
“Don’t worry, it’s not forever; we’ll be back in just a few short months,” she added.”
There’s a dash of hubris there for Weiss to think that she can fix the problems at CBS in “just a few short months.” There’s every indication Weiss not only has absolutely no idea what she’s doing, but that she lacks the introspection to be able to realize that she’s the problem and to adjust accordingly. That likely means she continues to flounder until she’s inevitably replaced by somebody even worse.
As we’ve noted previously, the problem for Weiss isn’t that she’s bad at journalism (though that’s certainly true). The problem for Weiss is that she’s bad at ratings-grabbing propaganda, the primary function she was hired for. If you’re going to create noxious state race-baiting propaganda, you have to at least make it entertaining — something Roger Aisles understood well.
Weiss’ incompetence is trouble for a CBS/Paramount parent company that has not only seen ratings in free fall at CBS, they’ve watched their stock drop 40 percent since Larry Ellison’s clumsy hostile takeover attempt of Warner Brothers (and CNN, HBO).
Ellison, fresh off his new co-ownership stake in TikTok, clearly wants to dominate both old and new media and to create a modern version of state television. The sort of thing we’ve seen in countries like Russia and Hungary, where autocrats have hollowed out what was left of media and turned it into an extension of the state (something we’ve already seen across much of U.S. corporate media and Fox News):
If there’s any bright spot to this mess, it’s that absolutely nobody in this chain of dysfunction, from the trust fund nepobaby son of Larry Ellison, to the weird contrarian culture war trolls they’re hiring to spread agitprop, have the slightest idea what they’re doing.
If U.S. media and democracy is saved from these zealots, it won’t be thanks to competent media reforms by the opposition party (which pretty broadly don’t exist in the United States, yet), it will be thanks to the raw, blistering hubris and incompetence of folks like Bari Weiss and David Ellison.
Filed Under: agitprop, bari weiss, disinformation, journalism, mass media, podcast, propaganda, state media, television
Companies: cbs


Comments on “Bari Weiss Pauses Her Pathetic Podcast To Focus Full Time On Ruining CBS”
Nicki Minaj incoming on CBS. Five will get you ten.
This comment has been flagged by the community. Click here to show it.
You guys need to realize that Weiss is solidly center-left, and she only scares you because you (and most MSM) is cuz you’re all crazy left weirdos.
Buddy, the only reason she’s not a full time housewife right now is because you lefties are hateful, violent people willing to shoot a guy for saying things you don’t like.
Re:
Funny that, she has no problems filling her right-wing buzzword bingo card every time she opens her mouth. My guess is that you have moved your Overton-window so far right that even Weiss looks like a leftie to you, ie you got even more stupid.
Some stats for you to ponder (actually, you’ll ignore them):
You were saying who were hateful? Seems to me the right is even more hateful than deluded jihadists. You just can’t stop yourself from proving again and again how stupid you are, but I guess that comes with being stupid.
Re: Re:
Too many people think anything to the left of Fox News is “dangerously leftist”… and many of them think Fox News might be just a bit too progressive for their taste.
Re:
Well yeah, someone has to continue the grift in that household. Heaven forfend any of them have a real job.
Re:
Weiss said 7 years ago on the Joe Rogan show that she was a left-leaning centrist. That doesn’t mean she actually was then, but even if she was then, that doesn’t mean she is now. The only support for the claim that she’s a centrist is that she had talking about far right authoritarianism a year ago before she got appointed to run CBS. She is platforming conservatives, parroting government claims, and killing stories that make the authoritarian government look bad. It doesn’t matter what she’s said or done in the past if her current actions are right wing sycophantry.
The mainstream media is not left at all and hasn’t been. Corporations are not leftist. You’re just, again, demonstrating that you don’t understand what is actually left.
Except a leftist didn’t kill Kirk. But also, and more importantly, Erika Kirk was wealthier than Charlie when they met. Pretending she’s a poor housewife doing unpaid labor rather than a millionaire who can afford a team nannies just shows how brainwashed you are.
These people aren’t relatable. Trump doesn’t give a fuck about you. Your efforts to carry water for people whose security personnel wouldn’t let you be in the same room as them is pathetic. Find a new identity that isn’t hero worship of awful people.
Re: Re:
It’s especially egregious after the WrestleMania-style entrance she got at that Trump rally disguised as a public memorial service.
Re: Re: Re:
I’m glad you think people don’t have the right to live cuz they don’t grieve and do memorial services the way you think they should.
Someday, on your deathbed, you’re going to realize you were the baddie.
Re: Re: Re:2
I’m glad you think people should wear orange carburetors on their heads just because I totally made up a strawman you didn’t utter.
Nobody said Erika Kirk doesn’t have the right to live. You’re weird.
Re:
The guy who murdered Charlie Kirk was a Republican. As Rocky pointed out, you must have shifted your Overton window so far to the right that even today’s Republican Party is a bunch of leftists to you.
Re:
Renee Good and Alex Pretti beg to differ.
Re:
A center leftist who built her entire career on smearing any academic she could find to smear as antisemitic for thinking maybe Israel isn’t always justifed, who got a job at the NYT and spent her entire run there attacking the left, journalism and screeching about persecution whenever anyone gave her any pushback. She then hopped onto the twitter files nonsense, selectively releasing emails attacking checks notes a center left administration’s efforts to protect public health and a campaigns efforts to stop the poliferation of Hunter Biden’s dixk pics.
So left, she is.
You better wise up Bari Weiss
Maybe as an ace investigative journalist she now understands that’s how long she has before she’s fired.
“Roger Aisles” -> Roger Ailes
Better you than me.
I’m glad you’re covering this story. I don’t want to add my eyeballs to the nonsense going on at CBS. I just hope people can move past it and not rubberneck like they’re seeing a traffic accident on the other side of the highway.
Just think of how much damage they could do if they were smart...
‘Well they may be evil authoritarians trying to push propaganda for a fascist regime, but at least they’re stupid’ is just a strange flavor of hope…