HideTechdirt is off for the long weekend! We'll be back with our regular posts tomorrow.
HideTechdirt is off for the long weekend! We'll be back with our regular posts tomorrow.

Virgin Denies Reports That It Will Kick File Sharers Offline

from the no-sirree dept

Earlier in the week there were reports that even without a government mandate, Virgin Media had come to an agreement with the entertainment industry to start kicking off users accused of file sharing, using a "three strike" rule. However, Virgin has now claimed that no such plan is in place while also noting that it found the concept "draconian." Reading between the lines, it certainly sounds like BPI (the British equivalent of the RIAA) presented Virgin with a plan to do this, and Virgin basically told BPI that it would consider the plan, at which point BPI leaked a report to the press that it was a done deal.

Filed Under: ban, file sharing, isps, uk
Companies: virgin


Reader Comments

Subscribe: RSS

View by: Time | Thread


  1. identicon
    Wyatt Ditzler, 4 Apr 2008 @ 12:52pm

    How...

    So how would they know if the data you were transmitting was 'illegal' are they sniffing everyone's packets? Would they notify you, like with a search warrant? I know it is the UK, but there are surely some data privacy laws that they would have to jump over to implement such a plan. Otherwise any company could just accuse everyone of sharing files illegally right?

Add Your Comment

Have a Techdirt Account? Sign in now. Want one? Register here



Subscribe to the Techdirt Daily newsletter




Comment Options:

  • Use markdown for basic formatting. (HTML is not supported.)
  • Remember name/email/url (set a cookie)

Follow Techdirt
Special Affiliate Offer

Advertisement
Report this ad  |  Hide Techdirt ads
Essential Reading
Techdirt Deals
Report this ad  |  Hide Techdirt ads
Techdirt Insider Chat
Advertisement
Report this ad  |  Hide Techdirt ads
Recent Stories
Advertisement
Report this ad  |  Hide Techdirt ads

Close

Email This

This feature is only available to registered users. Register or sign in to use it.